OUR DEANERY'S RICH HISTORY

On Thursday March 12, 2009 pilgrims from around the deanery traveled to the Basilica of St. Francis Xavier in Vincennes, Indiana. St. Francis Xavier parish, the oldest church congregation in Indiana, was founded in 1732. The first resident pastor, Rev. Sebastian Louis Meurin, S.J. arrived at St. Francis Xavier in May of 1748.

The present church building, the oldest in Indiana, dates to 1826. From 1834 until 1877, it served as the Cathedral church for the first four bishops of Vincennes, who are buried in its crypt.

 

Back of the Basilica St. Francis Xavier Cathedral and former St. Gabriel's College seminary grounds, founded in 1837 by Bishop Brute'

Inside view of the Old Cathedral Basilica
of St. Francis Xavier

Back of the Old cathedral

Deanery pilgrims board the bus
leaving the Old Cathedral

Cape and artifacts belonging to Indiana's first bishop, Simon Brute'.

Reliquary of St. Aufidia in the crypt
of the Old Cathedral

Inside the Old Cathedral library,
St. Elizabeth Ann Seton's bible which
was given to her former confessor,
Bishop Simon Brute' at her death.

Former seminary chapel on the
grounds of the Old Cathedral.

The first four bishops of Indiana buried in the crypt:

1. Simon Brute' (1834-1839)

   (Confessor of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton)

2. Celestine de la Hailandiere (1839-1847) 

    (Confessor of St. Theodora Guerin)

3. John Stephen Bazin (1847-1848)

4. Maurice de St. Palais (1849-1877)

Fr. John Schipp, current pastor of
the Old Cathedral parish, tells about
Indiana's first Bishops. Fr. Joe Feltz,
our dean and pilgrim priest from
St. Lawrence, looks on.

Reliquary Chapel

Hand carved statue of the Blessed Virgin
Mary brought from France stands over the
tomb of Bishop Simon Brute'